texsom best sommelier competition

Presented By

The application period for the TEXSOM Best Sommelier Competition is closed.

Applications are being reviewed and applicants will be notified by May 12, 2017 if they are one of the 25 competitors in the TEXSOM Best Sommelier Competition 2017.

The competition is judged by Master Sommeliers and Masters of Wine from around the globe during the TEXSOM Sommelier Conference.

We accept applicants from Texas, Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and New Mexico to compete for the title of TEXSOM Best Sommelier 2017.

The competition will be held Sunday, August 13, 2017 at the Four Seasons Resort and Club Dallas at Las Colinas.

The competition includes a tasting exam, practical service exam and written theory exam.

The following Scholarships will be rewarded from SOMMFoundation to be used for a Court of Master Sommeliers certification program.

  • 1st Place: $2,500 Scholarship
  • 2nd Place: $1,500 Scholarship
  • 3rd Place: $1,000 Scholarship

The winner will be announced at the Grand Tasting and Awards Reception on Monday, August 14, 2017.

Eligibility Requirements

  • Applicants must be 21 years of age or older.
  • Eligible competitors must not yet have achieved the Advanced Sommelier Certification or higher with the Court of Master Sommeliers.
  • TEXSOM Best Sommelier Winners are not eligible to compete in future years.



2016 Winner



TEXSOM Best Sommelier Winners

2016 Rachel DelRocco

2015 Nathan Fausti

2014 Joelle Cousins

2013 Scott Ota

2012 Ryan Tedder

2011 Bill Elsey

2010 Jason Huerta

2009 June Rodil

2008 Scott Barber

2007 Mark Sayre

2006 Devon Broglie

2005 Kim Wallace